Maximilian Friedrichs: Senior Strategist
Phillip Kortlang: Creative Director

The solution to extending physical products into the digital world? How scarcity for digital goods can become a global future opportunity for brands.

The digital revolution

It’s hardly news when we tell you that the digital revolution is in full stride. Accelerated by COVID-19, more and more activities are shifting to the digital space and brands are looking for new ways to stay in touch with their target audiences. In the midst of this new digital chaos, a potential that feels like science fiction is emerging.

With the booming of cryptocurrencies, an exciting topic is gaining prominence that could open up a whole new market for brands with the technology of blockchain — and this may provide the answer to the age old question of the digital extension of physical products and exclusive brand experiences: Digital Collectibles.

What are Digital Collectibles?

Digital Collectibles are digital goods that can be collected and traded, secured by the Blockchain. One example of a blockchain that enables the creation and marketability of such goods via so-called »smart contracts« (programmable contracts) is Ethereum.

The goods are stored in so-called »Non-Fungible Tokens (NFT)« that are unique and cannot be replicated or destroyed, because each NFT acts as a kind of unique certificate of authenticity. Actual ownership of the respective good is thus made possible and the principle of scarcity enters the digital space as an economic factor.

Though this may sound abstract at first, it is easy to imagine if you consider the principle of trading cards. Certain trading cards have a special value because they have a corresponding rarity and can be clearly authenticated as »original« by certain characteristics.

The demand for these trading cards among collectors in the physical space is known to be immense, depending on the game. The NBA is currently taking advantage of this principle by selling so-called »top shots« (short video clips) connected to NFTs. Highlights of Lebron James have already been traded for around $200,000. A true digital video trading card game of a worldwide known brand.

Lets think beyond trading cards for a minute : we live in times of social media, virtual reality and gaming. What if there was a whole new ecosystem for brands to add digital tokens to their physical products?

Some examples: How brands can use Digital Collectibles

Let’s envision a luxury brand selling a unique digital token (the NFT) with each of its physical products. This token enables the owner to wear the product in the digital space. Taking a luxury sneaker for example, the owner could also wear it in gaming worlds, in virtual reality or on social media (e.g. via avatars). Cross-application, everywhere—and certified in its authenticity. The concept doesn’t appear outlandish anymore. Surely you’ve noticed the sneakers Travis Scott wore in his famous digital concert in Fortnite?

Besides the transfer of the physical product to the digital realm, one can also imagine other extensions through NFTs: These range from the right to use a certain feature acquired with each sneaker sold, e.g. a face filter on Instagram, to the owner’s right to access exclusive content, experiences or services. This would create a new access management that binds customers closely to the brand by linking such extensions closely to the physical product.

Nowadays, one’s own identity is an important social currency on the Internet. Users could use these kinds of digital goods to further expand their digital identity and bring self-image and external image closer together online as well.

Other use cases include collectibles such as artwork (Christies auctioning off NFT art by Beeple, Hashmasks, Cryptopunks) or even generative music (EulerBeats) including copyright. Some of these current examples serve more as illustrative purposes than for adding relevant value on a mass scale—but they definitely show the potential of the underlying technology.

What does it mean for brands?

With tokens like these, brands can finally create digital experiences that are truly linked to their physical product. Physical and digital brand experiences are thus moving closer together and ultimately merge into a single entity that was not feasible beforehand. This allows brands to not only secure extreme reach through the digital visibility of their products, but also provide additional value to the customer by fostering excitement and customer loyalty through exclusive experiences and product-related features and services.

The marketability of NFTs could even trigger veritable new hypes driven by brands. Physical sneakers are already traded as rarities—what would a marketplace for sneaker-related NFTs look like? The owner would suddenly have kind of digital a scurity account connected to his shoe rack.

Until now, NFT users have perhaps been a narrow target group of first movers and some occasional nerd – but that will definitely change in the future: The trend is gaining momentum and the system is on its way to mass acceptance.

Conclusion

The prospective market for digital collectibles appears huge and arguably holds enormous opportunities for brands to help shape the new digital world. Established brands and new players could gain a foothold with interesting new forms of digital experiences and possible links to physical products, as could a number of new types of platform providers such as exchanges and retailers.

As of yet, the technology behind this opportunity seems difficult to understand and maybe still lacks widespread acceptance. But as the barriers to entry the market lower and the opportunities become more visible, anything seems possible.

Of course, no one can predict the future – but back then, people wouldn’t even want to pay with their credit cards on the Internet. What do you think the world will look like tomorrow?

By the way: Nike has already applied for a patent for a kind of crypto-sneaker – We can’t wait.

KEY TAKE AWAYS

  • Many brands don’t yet consider blockchain relevant, associating it primarily with digital currencies like bitcoin. Yet there is much more potential behind it with NFTs: Digital Collectibles.
  • NFTs make it possible to link digital assets to physical products and make authentic »ownership« of these assets possible.
  • Brands can use them to extend their physical products exclusively into the buyer’s digital space: by transferring the product, such as a sneaker, for the virtual closet, or by supplementing the product with, for example, access to new content or the unlocking of certain features.
  • There is still a lack of widespread adoption of the technology by established brands, but the trend is extremely fueled by the new crypto hype. Nike has already filed a patent for a type of crypto sneaker.
  • Once the barriers to entry fall, a whole new ecosystem could open up for brands and their customers, blurring the digital and physical worlds even more.

Maximilian Friedrichs: Senior Strategist
Phillip Kortlang: Creative Director

Die Lösung zur Verlängerung physischer Produkte in die digitale Welt? Wie Knappheit für digitale Güter zur weltweiten Zukunftschance für Marken werden kann.

Die digitale Revolution

Es sind wahrlich keine News, wenn wir erzählen, dass die digitale Revolution im vollen Gange ist. Beschleunigt durch COVID-19 verlagern sich immer mehr Aktivitäten in den digitalen Raum und Marken suchen nach neuen Wegen, um in Kontakt mit ihren Zielgruppen zu bleiben. Doch mitten in diesem neuen digitalen Chaos entsteht aktuell ein Potential, das noch weit in der Zukunft zu liegen scheint. Denn mit dem Boom von Kryptowährun­gen rückt ein spannendes Thema in den Vordergrund, das mit der Technologie der Blockchain einen völlig neuen Markt für Marken eröffnen könnte – dieser liefert vielleicht die Antwort auf die ewige Frage nach der digitalen Verlängerung physischer Produkte und exklusiver Markenerlebnisse: Digital Collectibles.

Was sind Digital Collectibles?

Digital Collectibles sind digitale, sammel- und handelbare Güter, abgesichert durch die Blockchain. Ein Beispiel für eine Blockchain, die die Erschaffung und Handelbarkeit solcher Güter über sogenannte »Smart Contracts« (programmierbare Verträge) möglich macht, ist Ethereum.
Die Güterspeicherung erfolgt dort in sogenannten »Non-Fungible Tokens (NFT)« und sorgt dafür, dass diese einmalig sind und nicht repliziert oder zerstört werden können, denn: jeder NFT fungiert als eine Art einzig­artiges Echtheitszertifikat. Es wird also ein tatsächliches Eigentum des jeweiligen Gutes ermöglicht und das Prinzip der Knappheit hält als Wirtschafts­faktor Einzug in den digitalen Raum.
Was zuerst abstrakt klingt, kann man sich leicht vorstellen, wenn man sich beispielsweise das Prinzip von Sammelkarten vor Augen führt: Bestimmte Sammelkarten haben einen besonderen Wert, weil sie eine entsprechende Seltenheit haben und durch gewisse Merkmale klar als »Original« zu authentifizieren sind.
Die Nachfrage nach diesen Karten unter Sammlern im physischen Raum ist bekannter
weise je nach Spiel immens. Die NBA macht sich dieses Prinzip gerade zu Nutze, indem sie sogenannte »Topshots« als NFTs verkauft. Hier wurden schon Highlights von Lebron James für ca. 200.000 Dollar gehandelt. Ein wahres digitales Videosammelkartenspiel einer weltweit bekannten Marke.

Lassen Sie uns nun einmal über die Sammel­karte hinaus denken: Erlebnisse auf Social Media, in der Virtual Reality und innerhalb des Gaming Hypes sind brandaktuell. Was passiert, wenn es ein ganz neues Ökosystem für Marken gäbe, die ihre physischen Produkte um digitale Tokens ergänzen wollen?

Einige Beispiele: Wie Marken Digital Collectibles einsetzen können

Stellen wir uns vor, eine Luxusmarke verkauft zukünftig zu jedem ihrer physischen Produkte auch einen einzigartigen digitalen Token (den NFT). Dieser ermöglicht dem Besitzer, das Produkt auch im digitalen Raum zu tragen. Gehen wir also von einem Luxus Sneaker aus, könnte der Besitzer diesen auch in Gaming Welten, in der Virtual Reality oder auf Social Media (z.B. über Avatare) tragen. Anwendungsübergreifend und überall – und in seiner Echtheit zertifiziert. Der Gedanke scheint gar nicht so fern. Ihnen sind doch sicher auch die Sneaker aufgefallen, die Travis Scott in seinem berühmten digitalen Konzert im Spiel Fortnite trug?
Neben der Übertragung des Produktes kann man sich auch Ergänzungen durch NFTs vorstellen: Das reicht von der mit jedem verkauften Sneaker erworbenen Berechtigung zur Nutzung eines bestimmten Features, z.B. ein Facefilter auf Instagram, bishin zur Zu­gangs­berechtigung des Besitzers für ex­klu­siven Content, Experiences oder Services. So würde ein neues Access-Management ent­stehen, das Kunden an die Marke bindet, indem es solche Themen eng an das physische Produkt knüpft.
Wir leben in Zeiten, in denen die eigene Identität im Netz eine wichtige soziale Währung ist. Nutzer könnten mit solchen digitalen Gütern ihre digitale Identität weiter ausbauen und Selbst- und Fremdbild auch online näher aneinander bringen. Weitere Anwendungsfälle sind beispielsweise Sammlerobjekte wie Kunstwerke (Christies versteigert NFT-Kunst von Beeple, Hashmasks, Cryptopunks) oder sogar generative Musik (EulerBeats) mitsamt Copyright. Manche dieser bereits existierenden Beispiele dienen aktuell wohl eher der Anschaulichkeit als einem massetauglichen relevanten Mehrwert – aber sie machen definitiv das Potential der dahinterliegenden Technologie deutlich.

Was bedeutet das für Marken?

Marken können also mit solchen Tokens endlich digitale Experiences schaffen, die wirklich an ihr physisches Produkt gekoppelt sind. Physische und digitale Brand Experience rücken damit näher zusammen und verschmelzen letztendlich zu einer Einheit, die bisher so noch nicht möglich war. So können Marken sich nicht nur eine extreme Reichweite durch die digitale Sichtbarkeit ihrer Produkte sichern, sondern auch zusätzliche Mehrwerte für den Kunden bieten, indem sie mittels exklusiver Erlebnisse und produktbezogener Features und Services Begeisterung und Kundenbindung fördern.
Durch die Handelbarkeit der NFTs könnten sogar regelrechte neue Hypes durch Marken ausgelöst werden. Physische Sneaker werden schon heute als Rarität gehandelt – wie sähe wohl ein Marktplatz für die digitalen Güter aus? Der Besitzer hätte plötzlich eine Art digitales Wertpapierdepot in seinem Schuhregal stehen.
Bisher handelte es sich bei NFT-Nutzern vielleicht um eine spitze Zielgruppe von First-Movern und dem ein oder anderen Nerd – doch das wird sich in Zukunft definitiv ändern: Der Trend rollt an und das System ist auf dem Weg zur Massentauglichkeit.

Ein paar Worte zum Schluss

Der potentielle Markt für Digital Collectibles erscheint riesig und birgt enorme Chancen für Marken, die neue digitale Welt mitzugestalten. Etablierte Marken und neue Player könnten mit interessanten neuen Formen von digitalen Erlebnissen und der möglichen Knüpfung an physische Produkte Fuß fassen, genauso wie eine Reihe von neuartigen Plattformanbietern wie Börsen und Händler.
Noch scheint die Technologie hinter dieser Chance schwierig greifbar und es fehlt sicher auch noch an weitreichender Akzeptanz. Doch sobald die Eintrittsbarrieren sich verringern und die Chancen sichtbarer werden, scheint alles möglich.
Die Zukunft kann natürlich niemand vorhersagen – aber damals wollten wir noch nicht einmal mit unserer Kreditkarte im Internet bezahlen. Wie sieht die Welt wohl morgen aus? Lassen wir uns überraschen.
Übrigens: Nike hat bereits ein Patent für eine Art Krypto-Sneaker angemeldet – wir sind gespannt.

KEY TAKE AWAYS

  • Viele Marken halten die Blockchain noch nicht für relevant, bringt man sie doch vor allem mit digitalen Währungen wie dem Bitcoin in Verbindung. Dabei steckt mit NFTs noch viel mehr Potential dahinter: Digital Collectibles
  • NFTs ermöglichen es digitale Assets an physische Produkte zu koppeln und machen ein authentifizierbares »Eigentum« dieser Assets möglich.
  • Marken können damit ihre physischen Produkte exklusiv in den digitalen Raum des Käufers verlängern: Durch Übertragung des Produkts wie z.B. einem Sneaker für den virtuellen Kleiderschrank oder durch die Ergänzung des Produkts durch z.B. Zugang zu neuem Content oder der Freischaltung bestimmter Features.
  • Noch fehlt es an weitreichender Akzeptanz der Technologie seitens etablierter Marken, aber der Trend wird durch den neuen Krypto-Hype extrem befeuert. Nike hat bereits ein Patent für eine Art Krypto-Sneaker angemeldet.
  • Sobald die Eintrittsbarrieren sinken, könnte sich ein völlig neues Ökosystem für Marken und ihre Kunden eröffnen, das die digitale und physische Welt noch mehr miteinander verschwimmen lässt.