What makes us unique?

MUTABOR –
the magic spell

MUTABOR is not only the Latin word for the desire to change (I’m going to change); MUTABOR is also the magic spell from the fairy tale Kalif Storch by Wilhelm Hauf. The MUTABOR magic spell stands for the (magical) power experienced by a brand going through a transformation accompanied by MUTABOR.

MUTABOR –
the creative reputation

MUTABOR was an internationally published design magazine in the mid-90s which was very successfully distributed in the design scene in Europe, Japan and the USA. It was co-founded by the current owners of the agency. High-circulation illustration and logo books were later released. This publishing activity generated commissioned work, and the magazine changed into a design studio.

From there, MUTABOR—with over 600 awards from international competitions—developed into the most creative design agency in Germany with the ambition to maintain its reputation in the international design scene.

MUTABOR –
the change mindset

Our name says it all, both for our clients and for the Mutaborians. The will to change, the energy of a positive transformation, the translation of this energy into outstanding design—that is what drives us.

That’s why we meet social, cultural and technological changes with enthusiasm and targeted skill development.

MUTABOR –
the interdisciplinary workforce

We rely on interdisciplinarity and cooperation. More than any other design company, we understand how to develop and manage complex brand presences. In addition to our interdisciplinary approach, we rely on a broad network of former Mutaborians and external experts, and we are pros in managing complex brand and communication projects.

MUTABOR –
the creative value makers

MUTABOR develops creative brand experiences that increase the value of our clients’ brands. Creativity can be an idea that makes the difference in the product, in positioning, in the customer journey, in design or in communication.

Our clients

Next Level Brands, driven by MUTABOR.

Our clients of the last five years.

Management

MUTABOR relies on a broad-based management that corresponds to the agency's interdisciplinary range of services.

“To work for, at and with MUTABOR is to play in the Champions League. That's why we bring together the best colleagues and project partners from different disciplines to implement first-class projects for our customers.”
Anne Wolkodaw
Associated Partner / Client Service Director
“The special thing about MUTABOR is that different disciplines come together and inspire each other. Not only is this great fun, but it also promotes innovation. I love the fact that I learn something new every day at MUTABOR.”
Ipek Molvali
Executive Partner
“MUTABOR stands for outstanding design solutions in all disciplines. There is no other design player our size with such broad and award-winning experience. ”
Johannes Plass
CEO / Founder
“Creative excellence is not a PR issue for us, but an internal driving force.”
Heinrich Paravicini
CCO / Founder
“Tomorrow's leading brands are digital natives, agile in their development, have attitude and make a positive impact on society.”
Burkhard Müller
CDO / Executive Partner
“More than any other word, Mutabor embodies the story of change. We tell this story again and again. And in a new way every time.”
Sven Ritterhoff
Associated Partner / Executive Creative Director
“At MUTABOR, we use the power of design to make strategy tangible at every moment. To spark a powerful momentum. The more magical, the better. Otherwise, strategy is just theory.”
Marle-Maria Janßen
Executive Strategy Director / Associated Partner
“At vero eos et accusam et justo duo dolores et ea rebum. Stet clita kasd gubergren, no sea takimata sanctus est Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet.”
Bogislav von Unruh
Head of Finance
“Working at MUTABOR means being able to change things. But you can also change yourself—progress, grow. Those are two outstanding things about a new job! And I can only advise everyone to experience this for themselves. ”
Anna Plum
Head of People & Organisation
“Brands will have to deliver new content in the future. Social relevance, the climate crisis, and the war for talents compel companies to redefine and redirect their purpose.”
Christian Breid
Executive Partner
“Embracing change is our superpower. Curiosity and optimization are our energy. MUTABOR develops brand experiences for brands that want to be at the forefront or stay there. ”
Andreas Koch
Executive Partner
“MUTABOR is an expert platform for all areas of brand design. A space for exchange and progress within the team as well as with customers. I value the inspiration and competence of all ‘crafts’ and the opportunity to bring all the expertise to the table at any time.”
Oliver Dering
Associated Partner / Creative Director
“MUTABOR is change. I embrace change every day so that tomorrow I can be an even better version of myself than I am today. But my greatest source of strength is my colleagues, and I learn something new from them every day, accompany their development and bring lightness into their working day.”
Katja Kopatz-Pritchett
Director Operations, Transformation & Training

Next Level Facts

46
New permanent hires in 2021
145
Mutaborians
400
Number of suppliers
60/40
Woman/Man
14,6
Fee turnover 2020 (million euros)
25
Gross turnover (million euros)
0
CO2 emissions (Net Zero Company)
19%
Fluctuation (Industry 30%)
34
Vacation days

What makes us unique?

MUTABOR –
the magic spell

MUTABOR ist nicht nur das lateinische Wort für den Willen zur Veränderung (ich werde verwandelt werden – i'm going to change); MUTABOR ist auch das Zauberwort aus dem Märchen Kalif Storch von Wilhelm Hauff. MUTABOR Magic Spell – das steht für die (Zauber)Kraft, die eine Marke bei einer durch MUTABOR begleiteten Transformation erfährt.

MUTABOR –
the creative reputation

MUTABOR war Mitte der 90er Jahre ein international publiziertes Design­magazin, das sehr erfolgreich in Europa, Japan und den USA in der Designszene vertrieben wurde. Mitbegründet wurde es von den heutigen Agentur­inhabern. Später erschienen auflagenstarke Illustrations- und Logobücher. Aus dieser publizistischen Tätigkeit entstanden Auftrags­arbeiten, das Magazin wandelte sich zum Designstudio.

Von diesem Level entwickelte sich MUTABOR – mit über 600 Awards bei inter­nationalen Wettbewerben – zur kreativsten Designagentur in Deutschland mit dem Anspruch, in der inter­nationalen Designszene bekannt zu bleiben.

MUTABOR –
the change mindset

Unser Name ist unser Programm. Für unsere Kund:innen ebenso wie für die Mutaborians. Der Wille zur Veränderung, die Energie einer positiven Transformation, die Übersetzung dieser Energie in heraus­ragendes Design – das ist es, was uns antreibt. Darum begegnen wir gesellschaft­lichen, kulturellen und technologischen Veränderungen mit Enthusiasmus und systematischer Weiterbildung.

MUTABOR –
the interdisciplinary workforce

Wir setzen auf lnterdisziplinarität und Kooperations­fähigkeit. Wir verstehen es wie kein anderes Design-Unternehmen, komplexe Markenauftritte zu entwickeln und zu managen. Neben unserer disziplin­übergreifenden Aufstellung setzen wir auf ein breites Netzwerk aus ehemaligen Mutaborianer:innen und externen Expert:innen; und wir sind Profis in der Steuerung komplexer Marken- und Kommunikationsprojekte.

MUTABOR –
the creative value makers

MUTABOR entwickelt kreativ gedachte Markenerlebnisse, welche die Marken unserer Kund:innen wertvoller machen. Kreativität kann eine Idee sein, die im Produkt, in der Positionierung, in der Customer Journey, im Design oder in der Kommunikation den Unterschied macht.

Unsere Kund:innen

Next Level Brands, driven by MUTABOR.

Unsere Kund:innen der letzten fünf Jahre.

Management

MUTABOR setzt auf ein breit aufgestelltes Management, welches dem interdiziplinären Leistungsspektrum der Agentur entspricht.

„Die führenden Marken von morgen sind digital native, entwickeln sich agil, haben Haltung und leisten einen positiven Impact auf die Gesellschaft.“
Burkhard Müller
CDO / Executive Partner
„Embracing Change ist unsere Superpower. Neugier und stetige Optimierung unser Strom. MUTABOR entwickelt Brand Experiences für Brands die ganz vorne sein oder bleiben möchten.“
Andreas Koch
Executive Partner
„Marken müssen zukünftig neue Inhalte liefern. Die gesellschaftliche Relevanz, die Klimakrise, der War for Talents zwingen die Unternehmen, ihren Purpose neu zu definieren und umzusteuern.“
Christian Breid
Executive Partner
„Bei MUTABOR zu arbeiten bedeutet, Dinge verändern zu können. Aber auch sich selbst kann man verändern – weiterbringen, wachsen. Das sind zwei herausragende Dinge eines neuen Jobs! Und ich kann nur Jedem empfehlen, diese Erfahrung selbst zu machen.“
Anna Plum
Head of People & Organisation
„Eine gute Kostenrechnung folgt dem Prinzip guten Designs: ‚Vollkommenheit entsteht nicht dann, wenn man nichts mehr hinzuzufügen hat, sondern wenn man nichts mehr wegnehmen kann.‘ – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry“
Bogislav von Unruh
Head of Finance
„Bei MUTABOR nutzen wir die Kraft von Design, um Strategie zu jedem Zeit­punkt anfassbar zu machen. Um ein bewegendes Momentum auszulösen. Je magischer, desto besser. Sonst bleibt Strategie nur Theorie.“
Marle-Maria Janßen
Executive Strategy Director / Associated Partner
„Kreative Exzellenz ist für uns kein PR Thema, sondern innerer Antrieb.“
Heinrich Paravicini
CCO / Founder
„Das besondere an MUTABOR ist, dass verschiedene Disziplinen zusammenkommen und sich gegenseitig inspirieren. Das macht nicht nur großen Spaß, sondern ermöglicht auch Innovation. Ich finde es großartig, dass ich bei MUTABOR jeden Tag dazulerne.“
Ipek Molvali
Executive Partner
„Für, bei und mit MUTABOR zu arbeiten, heißt in der Champions League zu spielen. Dafür bringen wir interdisziplinär die besten Kolleg:innen und Projektpartner:innen zusammen, um für unsere Kund:innen erstklassige Projekte zu realisieren.“
Anne Wolkodaw
Associated Partner / Client Service Director
„MUTABOR ist eine Expert:innen-Plattform für alle Bereiche der Markengestaltung. Ein Ort für Austausch und Progress, sowohl im Team als auch mit Kund:innen. Ich schätze die Inspiration und Kompetenz aller ‚Gewerke‘ und die Möglichkeit alle Expertisen, jederzeit an einen Tisch holen zu können.“
Oliver Dering
Associated Partner / Creative Director
„MUTABOR ist Veränderung. Ich lebe den Wandel jeden Tag so, dass ich morgen eine noch bessere Version von mir bin, als heute. Meine größte Energiequelle sind dabei meine Kolleg:innen, von denen ich täglich Neues lerne, ihre Entwicklung begleite und Leichtigkeit in ihren Arbeitstag bringe.“
Katja Kopatz-Pritchett
Director Operations, Transformation & Training
„MUTABOR steht für herausragende Designlösungen für Marken in allen Disziplinen. Es gibt keinen anderen Designplayer unserer Größe, der über eine so breite und vielfach ausgezeichnete Expertise verfügt.“
Johannes Plass
CEO / Founder
„MUTABOR steht wie kein zweites Wort für die Geschichte von Veränderung. Diese Geschichte erzählen wir immer wieder. Und jedes Mal neu.“
Sven Ritterhoff
Associated Partner / Executive Creative Director

Next Level Facts

145
Mitarbeiter:innen
25
Bruttoumsatz (Mio Euro)
60/40
Frau/Mann
19%
Fluktuation (Branche 30%)
46
Neuzugänge fest in 2021
34
Urlaubstage
400
Lieferanten
14,6
Honorarumsatz 2020 (Mio Euro)
0
CO2 Emissionen (Net-Zero-Unternehmen)