Brand Pavilion on the Road.
Station 1: Antholz Biathlon World Championship 2020

IDM South Tyrol, South Tyrol Home, 2020

Why

The Biathlon World Championship in Antholz is the largest sporting event ever held in South Tyrol. 350 athletes from 40 different nations, and more than 150,000 spectators are on-site. Another 130 million spectators watch it live in front of their televisions. So, the IDM South Tyrol brand plans to do justice to this international setting.

How

We are particularly proud of our sustainable approach and implementation throughout the process. This approach highlights the values of the South Tyrol region: The South Tyrol Home values sustainability in combination with a high standard of regional architectural craftsmanship. The use of CO2-neutral and light wood material has also significantly reduced CO2 emissions.

What

We give the brand a home and build the South Tyrol Home in direct proximity to the award ceremonies on the Medal Plaza. We play with the logo and combine the strong South Tyrolean brand with the classic wooden hut construction. The brand pavilion became a lively first contact point and temporary home for the community of athletes and journalists as well as all brand partners. Thanks to its modular design, the house will be going on tour again in the coming years.

Biathlon World Championship Event / Atmosphere

It is a wonderful spectacle when spectators rush with joy onto the grounds, waving their flags and cheering on the athletes. Live bands and international live acts heat up the audience, while visitors to the South Tyrol Homes savour culinary specialities and watch from a distance.

Concept / Development / Facade

Summer and winter, innovation and tradition, action and relaxation – South Tyrol’s character consists of the most diverse and exciting contrasts. We translate these best elements of the brand into the building facade as a series of colorful layers that have been filled with life and enjoyment.

Interior / Layout

The heart of the 227m² brand pavilion is South Tyrolean hospitality, which visitors can enjoy at the bar, tables and lounge areas on the ground floor. The interview area is located on the upper level. From there and from the overhanging balcony, we use the impressive mountain panorama and the unique view towards Medal Plaza as a natural background for all press activities.

Materials / Sustainability

Utilizing wood for the facade was just one aspect of our climate-friendliness. We also used wallpaper made of leaves, alpine hay from South Tyrol and climate-friendly textiles, as well. In the following six years, this symbol of sustainability will be reused at various locations.

Skills

Concept and design planning (HOAI LP 1-3), Supervision of production, Consultant support design phase, Documentation

Credits

NOA* – NETWORK OF ARCHITECTURE
Rubner Holding AG

Markenpavillon auf Reisen.
Station 1: Biathlon WM Antholz 2020

IDM Südtirol, Südtirol Home, 2020

Why

Die Biathlon WM in Antholz ist das größte Sportevent, das in Südtirol je veranstaltet worden ist. Mit 350 Athletinnen und Athleten aus 40 verschiedenen Nationen, über 150.000 Zuschauern vor Ort und noch einmal 130 Millionen Zuschauern live vor dem Fernseher soll der Auftritt der Marke IDM Südtirol diesem internationalen Rahmen gerecht werden.

How

Besonders stolz sind wir auf den nachhaltigen Ansatz und die möglichst nachhaltige Umsetzung im gesamten Prozess. Gerade hier ist der Bezug zu den Werten der Region Südtirol gut erkennbar: Das Südtirol Home macht den hohen Stellenwert von Nachhaltigkeit in Kombination mit einem hohen Anspruch an die Qualität der regionalen Handwerkskunst dreidimensional erlebbar. Auch durch den Einsatz des CO2-neutralen und leichten Werkstoffes Holz wurden die auftretenden CO2-Emissionen stark reduziert.

What

Wir geben der Marke ein Zuhause und bauen das Südtirol Home – als direkten Nachbarn zu den Siegerehrungen auf der Medal Plaza. Wir spielen mit dem Logo und verschränken die starke Bildmarke Südtirols mit dem klassischen Holzhüttenbau. Der Markenpavillon wurde zu einer lebendigen ersten Anlaufstelle und temporären Heimat für die Gemeinschaft der Sportler und Journalisten sowie aller Partner der Marke. Das Haus geht in den nächsten Jahren dank modularer Bauweise für den Wiedereinsatz auf Reisen.

Biathlon WM Event / Stimmung

Wenn Zuschauer voller Freude auf das Gelände stürmen, ihre Flaggen schwenken und den Athleten zujubeln, ist dies ein wunderbares Spektakel. Live Bands und internationale Live Acts heizen dem Publikum ein, während Besucher des Südtirol Homes Spezialitäten kosten und aus der Ferne beobachten.

Konzept / Herleitung / Fassade

Sommer und Winter, Innovation und Tradition, Aktion und Entspannung – Südtirols Charakter besteht aus unterschied­lichsten, spannenden Kontrasten. Diese besten Stücke der Marke übersetzen wir als aneinander gereihte, farbige Schichtung in die Gebäudehülle, die mit viel Leben und Genuss gefüllt wurde.

Innenraum / Aufteilung

Herzstück im Inneren des 227m² Marken­pavillons ist die Südtiroler Gastfreund­lichkeit, die der Besucher im Erd­geschoss an Bar, Tischen und Separees genießen kann. Im Obergeschoss findet sich der Interview­bereich. Von dort und vom auskragenden Balkon nutzen wir das eindrucks­volle Bergpanorama und den einmaligen Blick Richtung Medal Plaza als natürlichen Hintergrund für alle Presseaktivitäten.

Materialien / Nachhaltigkeit

Nicht nur bei der Fassade wurde durch Einsatz von Holz viel Wert auf klimafreundliche Materialien gelegt – auch Tapeten aus Laub oder Almheu aus Südtirol kamen ebenso zum Einsatz wie klima­freundliche Textilien. In den folgenden 6 Jahren wird dieses Symbol für Nach­haltigkeit an verschiedenen Orten erneut aufgebaut.

Skills

Identity Architecture: Konzept und Entwurf (HOAI LP 1-3), Projektsteuerung, Beratende Begleitung Entwurfsphase, Dokumentation

Credits

NOA* – NETWORK OF ARCHITECTURE
Rubner Holding AG