Society-Centered Design

Why does the world need “Society-Centered Design”?

For almost thirty years, User-Centered Design has been the ultimate standard in the development of digital products. At one point, it meant a focus not only on the financial goals of a company, but also on the human needs, abilities, and behaviors of the user. This approach still has some justification. But: It is no longer sufficient today. Because in our global, hyper-connected world, something that benefits the user could cause massive harm to many others—and our planet. We developed a framework to consider the needs of passive users alongside those of the active user. This also includes those who do not actively use the service themselves, but who are impacted by it.

Burkhard Müller, Chief Digital Officer at Mutabor
“Society-Centered Design is not idealism, but rather something that gives companies a real competitive advantage.”

Our methodology helps to highlight brand essence, relevance, and responsibility for society. This results in unique solutions that are in line with the company's DNA and that promote social progress.

We offer our customers the following services related to Society-Centered Design:
  • Impulse presentation “Society-Centered Design Mindset”
  • Positioning workshop “Role in Society”
  • Product vision workshop
  • Design sprints
  • Training and coaching for teams

Contact for New Business

As a three-pronged approach.

In Society-Centered Design, the value for companies, the value for users and the value for society are all considered in equal measure, resulting in a three-pronged approach that provides long-term benefits to everyone.
Together with PAGE, we held debates with smart minds within the customer, university, and agency sectors, gave presentations at companies, colleges, and digital congresses, and developed new methodologies based on the lessons learned.
The result is a booklet that we have now published together with PAGE.

Download brochure

Registration for the next lecture

Society-Centered Design

Wieso die Welt „Society-Centered 
Design“ braucht?

Seit fast dreißig Jahren gilt User-Centered Design als das Nonplusultra in der Entwicklung digitaler Produkte. Es führte einst dazu, dass nicht mehr allein die finanziellen Ziele eines Unternehmens im Mittelpunkt standen, sondern auch die menschlichen Bedürfnisse, die Fähigkeiten und Verhaltensweisen der Nutzer:innen. Diese Herangehensweise hat nach wie vor ihre Berechtigung. Nur: Sie reicht heute nicht mehr aus. Denn in unserer globalen, hoch vernetzten Welt kann etwas, das dem oder der Einzelnen nutzt, vielen anderen – und unserem Planeten – massiv schaden. Wir haben ein Framework entwickelt um neben den Bedürfnissen der aktive User auch die der passive User zu berücksichtigen. Also auch diejenigen, die den Service selbst nicht aktiv nutzen, aber durch ihn beeinträchtigt sind.

Burkhard Müller, Chief Digital Officer bei Mutabor
„Society-Centered Design ist kein Idealismus, sondern verschafft Unternehmen einen echten Wett
bewerbsvorteil.“

Unsere Methodik hilft den Markenkern und die Verantwortung für die Gesellschaft ins Bewusstsein aller zu rufen. So entstehen eigenständige Konzepte, die der DNA des Unternehmens entspringen, gesellschaftlichen Fortschritt fördern.

Wir bieten unseren Kund:innen zum Thema Society-Centered Design folgende Services an:

  • Impuls presentation „Society-Centered Design Mindset“
  • Positioning Workshop „Role in society“
  • Product Vision Workshop
  • Design Sprints
  • Trainings und Coaching für Teams

Kontakt für New Business

Im Dreiklang.

Im Society-Centered Design werden der Wert für das Unternehmen, der Wert für die Nutzer:innen und der Wert für die Gesellschaft gleichermaßen berücksichtigt, sodass ein Dreiklang entsteht, der für alle langfristig positive Effekte bringt.

Wir haben gemeinsam mit der PAGE Debatten mit klugen Köpfen auf Kunden-, Universitäts- und Agenturseite geführt, Vorträge bei Unternehmen, an Hochschulen und auf Digitalkongressen gehalten und aus den Learnings neue Methodiken erarbeitet. Entstanden ist ein Booklet, das wir mit der PAGE nun veröffentlicht haben.

Booklet downloaden

Anmeldung zum nächsten Vortrag