Expect more from your everyday life

From growing a smart home app into a full-fledged brand.

Why

As the ecosystem brand of BSH, the home of brands like Bosch, Siemens and Neff, Home Connect brings smart connectivity into our everyday lives and many countries worldwide. The platform and app focus on household, especially cooking and cleaning. Devices from different brands are connected, controlled and personalized with just one app and in an ever-expanding network of partners and services that is currently one of the largest for home appliances. Yet, Home Connect is more than just an app: In order to achieve necessary relevance for partners, developers, consumers and employees, we were asked to develop it into a full-fledged brand. Our first take on this new brand’s independence was to revise the logo.

How

As the first platform to allow home appliances from different brands to be controlled with one single app, this new ease of use became the center of our redesign. The brand image of Home Connect conveys cooperation, intelligence, creativity and openness. Remote controlling and exploiting appliances through smart assistants saves time, cost and energy. At the same time, it’s fun! – and can now be adapted to suit personal preferences and improve the quality of home life on an individual basis. With its iconic appearance, the new logo was not only able to stand in for all of these brand’s core traits. Bold and flexible in style, it became the starting point for a much broader Home Connect system and communication cosmos

What

Considering that Home Connect was about to roll out to a broad range of touchpoints from smart devices to trade shows, the need to go beyond a new logo was great: With a refined brand strategy and an all-new corporate design for print, digital and 3D live experiences, the foundation was laid for a comprehensive, modular design system that was not only condensed in an online style guide. Next to animations, we created an illustration library that makes it easy to create on-point illustrated scenes from more than 380 elements, ranging from backgrounds to haircuts. Giving the possibility to create an endless range of scenarios, they are a much better choice than photos – and give the smart, fun and truly personal brand its very own twist.

  • represent our brand in an efficient and unique way
  • make complex ideas easier to grasp
  • tell coherent and consistent stories
  • create easy-to-follow sequences that highlight important details
  • support text without distracting from over overshading the key message
  • be able to scale up or down, as required by the context
  • reach users in a much more targeted way, regardless of emotional states
  • represent our brand in an efficient and unique way
  • make complex ideas easier to grasp
  • tell coherent and consistent stories
  • create easy-to-follow sequences that highlight important details
  • support text without distracting from over overshading the key message
  • be able to scale up or down, as required by the context
  • reach users in a much more targeted way, regardless of emotional states
Your plus for the entire home:
Also for the newly launched sister brand Home Connect Plus we developed the design system and an illustrative language. In contrast to Home Connect, the focus of the smart app is not on the personalized control of individual home appliances. With Home Connect Plus, entire smart home systems from different brands can be linked, automated and individual scenarios created. From morning rituals to holiday monitoring, devices are connected in series and controlled remotely to make everyday life at home even easier. Read more here.

Skills

Logo design, corporate identity, brand design, corporate design, digital branding, digital solutions, illustration, storytelling, motion graphics, style guide, brand guidelines

Expect more from your everyday life

Von der Smart Home App zur eigenständigen Marke.

Why

Als die Ökosystem-Marke der BSH, der Heimat von Marken wie Bosch, Siemens und Neff, bringt Home Connect smarte Konnektivität in unseren Alltag und zahlreiche Länder weltweit. Die Plattform und App konzentrieren sich auf den Haushalt und dabei insbesondere auf das Kochen und Putzen. In einem wachsenden und dem für Hausgeräte aktuell größten Netzwerk von Partnern und Services lassen sich Geräte unterschiedlicher Marken verbinden, steuern und personalisieren. Doch Home Connect ist viel mehr als (nur) das: Um die Relevanz für Partner, Entwickler:innen, Nutzer:innen und Mitarbeiter:innen zu steigern, bat man uns, die App zu einer eigenständigen Marke weiterzuentwickeln. Der erste Schritt war die Überarbeitung des Logos.

How

Home Connect ist die erste Plattform, über die sich Hausgeräte verschiedener Marken mit nur einer einzigen App steuern lassen. Diese neue Nutzerfreundlichkeit machten wir zum Fokus unseres Redesigns: Das Markenbild von Home Connect steht für Kooperation, Intelligenz, Kreativität und Offenheit. Wer seine Geräte mit smarten Assistenten steuert, spart Zeit, Kosten und Energie. Gleichzeitig macht es Spaß! Und lässt sich an persönliche Vorlieben an­pas­sen, um die individuelle Lebens­qualität zu verbessern. Klar und vereinfacht ver­mittelt das neue Logo-Icon nicht nur die Kerneigen­schaften von Home Connect. Mit seiner flexiblen Anwendbarkeit war es unser Aus­gangspunkt für einen viel umfassen­deren System- und Kommunikations­kosmos.

What

Weil Home Connect kurz davorstand auf zahlreiche Touchpoints – von Smart Device bis Messestand – ausgerollt zu werden, war der Bedarf für mehr als ein Logo groß: Mit einer verdichteten Markenstrategie und einem neuen Corporate Design für Print, Digital und 3D Live Experiences legten wir den Grundstein für ein eigenständiges, modulares Gestal­tungs­system, das wir in einem Online-Style­guide auf den Punkt brachten. Neben Anima­tionen entwickelten wir außerdem eine Illustration Library, mit der sich illustrierte Szenen aus mehr als 380 Elementen – vom Hintergrund bis zum Outfit – erstellen lassen. In ihrer Vielseitigkeit sind sie eine weit bessere Wahl als Fotos und geben der smarten, verspielten und persönlichen Marke ihren ganz eigenen Charakter.

  • unsere Marke auf effiziente und einzigartige Weise zu repräsentieren
  • komplexe Ideen leichter verständlich zu machen
  • kohärente und konsistente Geschichten zu erzählen
  • leicht nachvollziehbare Sequenzen zu schaffen, die wichtige Details hervorheben
  • den Text zu unterstützen, ohne von der Kernaussage abzulenken
  • nach oben oder unten skalierbar zu sein, je nach Kontext
  • den Benutzer viel gezielter zu erreichen, unabhängig von seinem emotionalen Zustand
  • represent our brand in an efficient and unique way
  • make complex ideas easier to grasp
  • tell coherent and consistent stories
  • create easy-to-follow sequences that highlight important details
  • support text without distracting from over overshading the key message
  • be able to scale up or down, as required by the context
  • reach users in a much more targeted way, regardless of emotional states
Das Plus fürs ganze Zuhause:
Auch für die frisch gelaunchte Schwestermarke Home Connect Plus entwickelten wir das Designsystem und eine illustrative Sprache. Im Gegensatz zu Home Connect liegt der Fokus der smarten App nicht auf der personalisierten Steuerung einzelner Hausgeräte: Mit Home Connect Plus lassen sich ganze Smart Home Systeme unterschiedlicher Hersteller verbinden, automatisieren und individuelle Szenarien erstellen. Vom Morgenritual bis zur Urlaubsüberwachung können Geräte in Reihe geschaltet und von fern gesteuert werden, um den Alltag zu Hause noch einfacher zu machen. Mehr dazu gibt’s hier.

Skills

Logo Design, Corporate Identity, Brand Design, Corporate Design, Digital Branding, digitale Lösungen, Illustration, Storytelling, Motion Graphics, Styleguide, Brand Guidelines