Bahlsen Design Vision

Produkt Brand Design and Packaging Sprints 2017

Why

In 2017, the process for the further development of the Bahlsen Group’s diversified brand presence began. This was launched and implemented by our valued partner, the brand strategy consulting firm SasserathMunzinger+ from Berlin. Mutabor was on board as design partner. The goal was the innovative modernization of the family-run business Bahlsen and its diverse brands with a commitment both to its own tradition and also to the future and its long-term challenges, especially in the food market. Aside from the Group Brand (which later emerged from this process in a redesigned form as Bahlsen Family), the focus was also on the well-known product brands, including Leibniz, PickUp and, of course, Bahlsen. The challenge was to identify the values and lived principles that will support the Bahlsen framework in the future, and the potentials that lie dormant in the brands of the Group.

How

The kickoff took place in summer 2017 with a multi-day workshop with the entire Bahlsen Executive Board in San Fransisco under the direction of SasserathMunzinger+ — which, as many are unaware, is not only the Mecca for digital transformation, but also for new food startups. In this setting, the potential of the brands, their values and their implementation were explored in new strategic concepts, and concrete, tangible designs were explored in various start-up deep dives, strategy sessions and design sprints. As a distinctive feature, the time shift allowed Mutabor teams in Hamburg and San Fransisco to work on the project in parallel, which delivered an enormous output in a short time. For example, decisions could be directly implemented into new proposals almost overnight, which were already waiting for the next iteration decision by the next morning. This integrative design workshop approach has become a model for effective and fast co-creation with our customers.

What

In addition to the impetus for the renaming and further development of the Bahlsen Group to the Bahlsen Family brand with the new core focus »Creating & Crafting Good since 1889«, a particular focus was also placed on the ‘blue’ core product brands. Here, MUTABOR provided many insights in several design sprints in San Francisco and Hamburg, as well as later in further iteration stages for Bahlsen in 2017, on how the brand should be perceived in the future in packaging design and brand presence. Our clear recommendation: amplify the lettering of the Bahlsen core branding assets (based on the signature of founder Hermann Bahlsen) and the iconic TET seal into a striking, consistent visual concept with maximum shelf & e-commerce impact. Today, we are discovering the value of visionary design sprints and how they help innovation-minded companies to make the right decisions for the future.

The iconic signature

In 1928, artist and designer Martel Schwichtenberg created the Bahlsen brand mark that endures to this day, based on Hermann Bahlsen’s signature. We use this iconic signature in a slightly adapted and optimized form as a defining element of the packaging that ties in with that history.

The TET sign: Everlasting

The original Egyptian hieroglyph TET, consisting of an oval, a snake, a semicircle, and three dots, is pronounced ‘Dschet’ and means ‘Everlasting’. We use the icon developed for the Group Brand as a symbolic seal over the opening, just as it has been used on historical Bahlsen packaging.

The TET sign: Everlasting

The original Egyptian hieroglyph TET, consisting of an oval, a snake, a semicircle, and three dots, is pronounced ‘Dschet’ and means ‘Everlasting’. We use the icon developed for the Group Brand as a symbolic seal over the opening, just as it has been used on historical Bahlsen packaging.

The future of good food

In 2017, together with Werner Bahlsen and under the direction of SasserathMunzinger+, we developed the current face of ‘The Bahlsen Family’ in a workshop in San Francisco, and worked on the vision for the Bahlsen product brand.

The future of good food

In 2017, together with the Bahlsen Management Board and under the direction of SasserathMunzinger+, we developed the current face of ‘The Bahlsen Family’ in a workshop in San Francisco, and worked on the vision for the Bahlsen product brand.

Packaging until 2021

Packaging until 2021

Vision 2017

Vision 2017

Skills

Corporate design, branding, packaging, typography, communication, illustration

Bahlsen Design Vision

Produkt Brand Design und Packaging Sprints 2017

Why

Im Jahr 2017 begann der Prozess für die Weiterentwicklung des vielfältigen Marken­auftrittes der Bahlsen Gruppe. Angestoßen und durchgeführt wurde dieser von unserem geschätzten Partner, der Marken­strategie­beratung SasserathMunzinger+ aus Berlin. Mutabor war als Design-Partner an Bord. Das Ziel war die innovative Modernisierung des Familien­unter­nehmens Bahlsen und seiner diversen Marken mit einem Bekenntnis sowohl zur eigenen Tradition als auch zur Zukunft und ihren nachhaltigen Herausforderungen, gerade im Lebensmittelmarkt. Focus waren neben der Group Brand (die später redesigned als Bahlsen Family aus diesem Prozess hervor­gehen sollte) auch die bekannten Produkt­marken, wie unter anderem Leibniz, PickUp oder eben Bahlsen. Die Frage war, auf welchen Werten und gelebten Grundsätzen das Bahlsen Gerüst in Zukunft steht und welche Potentiale in den Marken der Gruppe schlummern.

How

Der Kickoff fand im Sommer 2017 mit einem mehrtägigen Workshop mit dem gesamten Bahlsen Vorstand in San Francisco unter der Führung von SasserathMunzinger+ statt – wie viele nicht wissen, nicht nur das Mekka der digitalen Transformation, sondern auch neuer Food-Startups. In diesem Setting wurde in diversen Start-Up Deep-Dives, Strategie-Sessions und Design-Sprints das Potential der Marken, ihrer Werte und deren Um­set­zung in neue Strategische Konzepte und konkrete, anfassbare Designs exploriert. Eine Besonderheit: durch die Zeitver­schiebung haben parallel Mutabor Teams in Hamburg und San Francisco an dem Projekt arbeiten können, welches einen enormen Output in kurzer Zeit lieferte. Unter anderem konnten getroffene Entscheidun­gen quasi über Nacht direkt in neue Vorschläge umgesetzt werden, die am nächsten Morgen schon zur nächsten Iterations-Entscheidung auf dem Tisch lagen. Dieser integrative Design-Workshop Ansatz ist für uns vorbildlich für effektive und schnelle Co-Kreation mit unseren Kunden geworden.

What

Neben dem Anstoß zur Umbenennung und Weiterentwicklung der Bahlsen Group zur Marke Bahlsen Family mit dem neuen Kern »Creating & Crafting Good since 1889 wurde ein Haupt­augenmerk auch auf die »blaue« Kern-Produktmarke gelegt. Hier hat MUTABOR in mehreren Designsprints in San Francisco/Hamburg und später auch in weiteren Iterationstufen für Bahlsen im Jahr 2017 viele Impulse gegeben, wie sich die Marke in Zukunft in, Verpackungs­design und dem Marktauftritt anfühlen sollte. Unsere klare Empfehlung: Stärkung der Bahlsen Kern-Branding Assets Schriftzug (auf der Basis der Unterschrift des Gründers Hermann Bahlsen) und dem ikonischen TET Siegel zu einem plakativen, durchgängigen visuellen Konzept mit maximalen Shelf & ECommerce Impact. Heute stellen wir fest, wie wertvoll visionäre Design-Sprints sind und wie sie innovativ denkenden Unternehmen helfen, die richtigen Entscheidungen für ihre Zukunft zu treffen.

Die ikonische Unterschrift

Die Künstlerin und Designerin Martel Schwichtenberg schuf 1928, auf Basis der Unterschrift von Hermann Bahlsen, das bis heute andauernde Zeichen der Marke Bahlsen. Leicht angepasst und optimiert nutzen wir diese ikonische Unterschrift als prägendes und an die Historie anknüpfendes Element der Verpackung.

Das TET-Siegel: Ewig-während

Die ursprünglich ägyptische Hieroglyphe TET, bestehend aus einem Oval, einer Schlange, einem Halbkreis und drei Punkten, wird eigentlich »Dschet« ausgesprochen und bedeutet »Ewig-während«. Das für die Group Brand entwickelte Icon, nutzen wir, wie auch schon bei histori­schen Bahlsen Verpackungen, als symbolisches Siegel über der Öffnung.

Das TET-Siegel: Ewig-während

Die ursprünglich ägyptische Hieroglyphe TET, bestehend aus einem Oval, einer Schlange, einem Halbkreis und drei Punkten, wird eigentlich »Dschet« ausgesprochen und bedeutet »Ewig-während«. Das für die Group Brand entwickelte Icon, nutzen wir, wie auch schon bei historischen Bahlsen Verpackungen, als symbolisches Siegel über der Öffnung.

The Future of good food

2017 haben wir gemeinsam mit Werner Bahlsen und unter der Leitung von SasserathMunzinger+, in einem Workshop in San Francisco, das Gesicht der heutigen »The Bahlsen Family« entwickelt und an der Vision für die Produktmarke Bahlsen gearbeitet.

The Future of good food

2017 haben wir gemeinsam mit dem Bahlsen Vorstand und unter der Leitung von SasserathMunzinger+, in einem Workshop in San Francisco, das Gesicht der heutigen »The Bahlsen Family« entwickelt und an der Vision für die Produktmarke Bahlsen gearbeitet.

Packaging bis 2021

Packaging bis 2021

Vision 2017

Vision 2017

Skills

Corporate Design, Branding, Packaging, Typografie, Kommunikation, Illustration